Fly Brighton

Just another WordPress site

ATC Availability

ATC Services - Jan 2022

All times local

Date
0800-0900
0900-1000
1000-1700
1700-1800
Comment
Saturday - 1 Jan
Closed
Closed
Closed
Closed
New Year's Day
Sunday - 2 Jan
A/G
A/G
A/G
A/G
Airport opens at 0900 local and closes at 1800 local
Monday - 3 Jan
A/G
APP
APP
TWR
Opening Hours 0800 - 1800 Mon - Fri
Tuesday - 4 Jan
A/G
A/G
A/G
A/G
-
Wednesday - 5 Jan
A/G
A/G
A/G
A/G
-
Thursday - 6 Jan
A/G
TWR
APP
APP
-
Friday - 7 Jan
A/G
TWR
APP
APP
-
Saturday - 8 Jan
A/G
APP
APP
TWR
Opening Hours 0900 - 1800 Sat - Sun
Sunday - 9 Jan
A/G
TWR
APP
APP
-
Monday - 10 Jan
A/G
APP
APP
TWR
Opening Hours 0800 - 1800 Mon - Fri
Tuesday - 11 Jan
A/G
TWR
APP
APP
-
Wednesday - 12 Jan
A/G
APP
APP
TWR
-
Thursday - 13 Jan
A/G
APP
APP
TWR
-
Friday - 14 Jan
A/G
TWR
APP
APP
-

Notes:

0

* To mitigate the potential effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, the staff shift pattern and opening hours for January have been adjusted as shown above.  This will be reviewed later in the month.

1

* The Approach Service will be available for some or all of this period depending of staff availability (if APP in all three columns from 1000 – 1800, this indicates availability of continuous uninterrupted service ALL day.)

2

Shoreham Airport operates a PPR for visitors. Contact ATC (01273 467377) to make a booking. All requests for practice RNP-IAP approaches to be made to ATC and a booking slot obtained at the same time.

3

Air-Ground (A/G) is operated by Shoreham Radio daily before 0900 local and, for January, at other times because of staff rostering introduced as a COVID-19 Secure measure.

4

RNP IAP is only available when a qualified Approach controller is on duty.

5

When “Shoreham Tower” or “Shoreham Radio” on frequency, the RNP IAPs are not available. To comply with CAP 393, Rules of the Air Regulations (Section 6) pilots in command (PiC) must not make use of the RNP IAP. PiC to advise ATC if descending outside the ATZ in order to break cloud. (South of coastline is most suitable area).

6

Straight-in approaches to the duty runway are permitted. Aircraft to position as instructed by “Shoreham Tower/Approach”. If “Shoreham Radio” operating, PiC to make appropriate calls and maintain a good lookout in VMC to assure a safe and orderly flow of traffic.

7

ATS availability can be subject to potential short notice change due staff sickness or unplanned operational changes, pilots should check with ATC to confirm that the desired service is available prior to flight.